Winter 2018/2019

Simulations with PALM-4U for Berlin and further development of the Graphical User Interface

The new urban climate model PALM-4U is making steady progress with great development effort. First results are available in the context of showcase simulations for Berlin in a resolution of 15 (Berlin and surrounding area) and one (Berlin center) meter and a multi-agent model. Further simulations of Berlin are still in preparation for the validation of the model by Module B.

With the development and provision of a Graphical User Interface (GUI) for PALM-4U, users in municipal administrations and climate service providers who are familiar with urban climate should be able to use the model. Essential prerequisites for the use of PALM-4U are intuitive operability, executability on various operating systems (e.g. Windows, Linux), the creation of analysis and visualization options, and export to common GIS data formats for the respective evaluation. The GUI can be operated as a web application via any browser and supports the configuration, start and output of the results of simulations. For typical applications, the GUI offers preconfigured model setups as well as setting options for application-related model parameters. The GUI is subject to continuous further development in consultation with the users. For further information on Module A click on www.alm.muk.uni-hannover.de/mosaik

 

Showcase Berlin-Mitte 1m vorticity

Fig.1: Showcase simulation of PALM-4U for Berlin-Mitte displaying first results on vorticity with a spatial resolution of 1 meter. © Institute of Meteorology and Climatology, Leibniz Universität Hannover

Last Module B meeting and intensive evaluation of data

At the beginning of December, Module B had the last module meeting of Phase I in Dresden, Radebeul. The presentations of the subprojects showed interesting results and a wide range of research questions dealt with, while at the same time providing very good networking and cooperation between the subprojects.

In addition to the further development of the data standard and the data management system (DMS) as well as the upload of quality-checked data of long-term measurements and intense measurement campaigns into the DMS, the validation periods for PALM-4U for Berlin, Stuttgart and Hamburg were defined. Precisley for these validation periods, data sets specifically suitable for validation are uoloaded into the DMS. For further information on Module B click on www.uc2-3do.org

 

Expert workshop in Berlin and Phase II of on-site training courses with and for the practice partners

At the end of November KliMoPrax of Module C conducted an expert workshop for municipalities in Berlin on the subject of "Urban climate models in use". After the presentation of the status quo of the three modules A, B an C, showcase simulations for the cities of Karlsruhe and Bonn were presented. 40 participants discussed in four working groups the expansion of the use of urban climate models, the prevailing framework conditions and prerequisites, urban climate models in mainstreaming and their areas of application. The development of the new urban climate model PALM-4U and its use as a tool and argumentation aid as well as the resulting added value met with great approval. However, the lack of available staff and resources, the infrastructure and the corresponding competencies are to be seen as sticking points.

Since November, the second training phase with on-site training courses for the practical partners has been underway. The practical requirements are checked, further practical use cases are processed and interoperability with other applications is demonstrated. In a further step, the practical partners will then independently apply the training content and prepare an individual report. This feedback will be discussed in a joint workshop. For further information on Modul C click on www.uc2-klimoprax-useuclim.org

Expertenwerkstatt
Fig: Figure of oral presentation on Expert Workshop in Berlin displaying the participating cities. © Bettina Steuri, GERICS und Björn Weber, difu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

News about the programme

In the meantime, the BMBF has sent the call for project proposals for Phase II of [UC]2 to the coordination of the programme. Proposals should be submitted by 28th of February 2019. Phase II is scheduled to start in September 2019.

Winter 2018/2019

Simulationen mit PALM-4U für Berlin und Weiterentwicklung der graphischen Benutzer Oberfläche

Das neue Stadtklimamodell PALM-4U macht bei großem Entwicklungsaufwand stetige Fortschritte. Erste Ergebnisse liegen im Rahmen von Showcase-Simulationen für Berlin in einer Auflösung von 15 (Berlin und Umland) und einem (Berlin Mitte) Meter vor. Auch für ein Multiagentenmodell liegen erste Ergebnisse vor. Noch in Vorbereitung sind die Simulationen von Berlin als Basis für die Validierung des Modells durch Modul B.

Mit der Entwicklung und Bereitstellung einer grafischen Nutzeroberfläche (GUI) für PALM-4U, soll stadtklimatisch vorgebildeten Anwendern in Kommunalverwaltungen und Klimadienstleistern die Nutzung des Modells ermöglicht werden. Wesentliche Voraussetzungen hierfür sind die intuitive Bedienbarkeit, die Ausführbarkeit auf verschiedenen Betriebssystemen (z.B. Windows, Linux), die Schaffung von Analyse- und Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten sowie der Export in gebräuchliche GIS-Datenformate für die jeweilige Auswertung. Die GUI ist als Web-Applikation über beliebige Browser bedienbar und unterstützt die Konfiguration, den Start und die Ergebnisausgabe von Simulationen. Für typische Anwendungsfälle bietet die GUI vorkonfigurierte Modell-Setups sowie Einstellungsmöglichkeiten für anwendungsbezogene Modellparameter. Die GUI unterliegt einer ständigen Weiterentwicklung in Rücksprache mit den Anwendern. Weitere Informationen zu Modul A finden Sie unter: www.alm.muk.uni-hannover.de/mosaik

Showcase Berlin Mitte Turbulenz
Abb. 1: PALM-4U Showcase Simulation mit ersten Ergebnissen für Turbulenz in Berlin-Mitte mit einer räumlichen Auflösung von 1 m. © Institut für Meteorologie und Klimatologie, Leibniz Universität Hannover

 

Letztes Modultreffen und intensive Auswertung der Daten

Anfang Dezember hatte Modul B das letzte Modultreffen der Phase I in Dresden, Radebeul: Die Präsentationen der Teilprojekte zeigten interessante Ergebnisse und eine breite Auffächerung bearbeiteten Forschungsfragen, bei gleichzeitig sehr guter Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit der Teilprojekte.

Neben der Weiterentwicklung des Datenstandards und des Datenmanagementsystems (DMS) sowie dem Hochladen qualitätsgeprüfter Daten der Langzeitmessungen und der Intensivmesskampagnen in das DMS, wurden die Validierungszeiträume für PALM-4U für Berlin, Stuttgart und Hamburg festgelegt. Exakt für diese Validierungszeiträume werden spezifisch zur Validierung geeignete Datensätze in das DMS eingestellt. Weitere Informationen zu Modul B finden Sie unter: www.uc2-3do.org

 

Expertenwerkstatt in Berlin und Phase II der Vor-Ort-Schulungen mit und für die Praxispartner

Der Verbund KliMoPrax in Modul C hat Ende November in Berlin eine Expertenwerkstatt für Kommunen mit der Thematik „Stadtklimamodelle in der Anwendung“ durchgeführt. Nach Vorstellung der Arbeitsstände in den drei Modulen und der Präsentation von Showcase-Simulationen am Beispiel der Städte Karlsruhe und Bonn, diskutierten die 40 Teilnehmer in vier Arbeitsgruppen über die Ausweitung der Nutzung von Stadtklimamodellen, die herrschenden Rahmenbedingungen und Voraussetzungen, über Stadtklimamodelle im Mainstreaming sowie deren Einsatzgebiete. Die Entwicklung des neuen Stadtklimamodells PALM-4U und dessen Einsatz als Werkzeug und Argumentationshilfe sowie der dabei entstehende Mehrwert fanden große Zustimmung. Als Knackpunkte sind allerdings der Mangel an verfügbarem Personal und Ressourcen, der Infrastruktur und entsprechenden Kompetenzen zu werten.

Seit November läuft die zweite Schulungsphase mit Vor-Ort-Schulungen für die Praxispartner. Hierbei werden die Praxisanforderungen überprüft, weitere praktische Anwendungsfälle bearbeitet und die Interoperabilität zu anderen Anwendungen gezeigt. In einem weiteren Schritt sollen die Praxispartner dann selbständig die Schulungsinhalte anwenden und einen individuellen Bericht erstellen. In einem gemeinsamen Workshop wird dieses Feedback diskutiert werden. Weitere Informationen zu Modul C finden Sie unter: www.uc2-klimoprax-useuclim.org

Expertenwerkstatt Berlin
Abb. 2: Abbildung aus einem Vortrag während der Experten Werkstatt in Berlin. Gezeigt werden die an der Fördermaßnahme beteiligten Kommunen. © Bettina Steuri, GERICS und Björn Weber, difu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Neues zur Fördermaßnahme

Das BMBF hat inzwischen den Aufruf zur Einreichung von Projektanträgen für eine Phase II von [UC]2 an die Koordination gesendet. Die Anträge sollen bis 28.02.2019 eingereicht werden. Der Start von Phase II ist für September 2019 geplant.